Lustre | Performance Space New York



Featuring: Our Lady J, Glenn Marla, Nathan Carrera …and The Pixie Harlots; plus special surprise guests nightly, including Taylor Mac and M. Lamar

Heat up your winter nights with Ethyl Eichelberger Award recipient and Tony Nominated performer Justin Bond and friends as they serve up a heady mix of Glamour, Gender Queer Cabaret, and Sexy Provocation.

Musical Director: Jonnah Speidel

More about Justin Bond: Tony nominated performance artist Justin Bond is an Obie winner, Bessie winner and the 2007 Ethyl Eichelberger Award winner, and was recently named by Time Out London as one of England’s 50 Funniest People. As one-half of the Performance duo Kiki and Herb, Justin has toured the world headlining at Carnegie Hall, The Sydney Opera House, London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall and has starred in successful runs On (The Helen Hayes Theatre) and Off-Broadway (The Cherry Lane Theatre). His most recent solo show, Glamour Damage, had its world premiere at London’s Soho Theatre and was hailed by the Evening Standard as “A glittering walk on the wild side.” He regularly Emcees the performance series “Weimar New York”, performs with his band The Freudian Slippers, and as a featured vocalist on the London Readers Wifes’ Nostalgia, had a top 20 single on the UK alternative chart. Recently, he appeared as Valerie Solanas with Matmos at the Whitney Biennial. Bond toured internationally with avant-garde noise/cabaret band Pantychrist. Film credits include a starring role in John Cameron Mitchell’s feature Shortbus as well as Imaginary Heroes. In 2006 Bond completed his MA Scenography at Central St. Martins College of Art and Design in London. Justin credits his career as a queer performer to Kate Bornstein who cast him as Herculine Barbin in her ground-breaking play Hidden: A Gender in 1991.

More about The Ethyl Eichelberger Award

Justin Bond is the recipient of the 2007 Ethyl Eichelberger Award, a commissioning award created by Performance Space 122 and made possible with the generous support of the Gesso Foundation. The Ethyl Eichelberger Award (in honor of seminal performer, landmark and legend Ethyl Eichelberger) is given to an artist or group that exemplifies Ethyl’s larger-than-life style and generosity of spirit; who embodies Ethyl’s multi-talented artistic virtuosity, bridging worlds and vitalizing those around them. The 2008 Ethyl Eichelberger Award will be announced following Lustre’s performance on Thursday, March 6 with a reception to follow. Past winners are Taylor Mac (2005) and Julie Atlas Muz (2006).

Visit our Ethyl Eichelberger page to watch videos and read more about this legendary performer

photo by LIZ LIGUORI
Wed, Feb 20 – Sun, Mar 9
Wed- Sun at 8:30 p.m.
additional shows Sat at 11 p.m.
Tickets from $25.00, $15 (students/seniors),
$10 (P.S. 122 members)

All rights reserved by Performance Space New York
Skip to content